What’s better than nothing?

Something for nothing*. I received an email the other asking if I fancied trying the new Nike+ running band. It’s like the Nike+ for your iPod but all the data is collected in a funky little wrist band thingy. After thinking about the downsides of selling out and become a corporate whore the techno carrot dangled in front of my nose made the decision easy and I found myself typing a reply quick smart.

The little gadget turned up yesterday, very nice. I have had to do a bit of bodging with the chip to get it on my shoes etc. First up I covered it in cling film. Next I gave it a good coating of gaffer tape. The cling film is so when I need to get at it again I won’t have to be picking the sticky gunk that gaffer tape always leaves behind. Then I pushed some holes through and fitted to my trainers – all good.

I’ve taken it out for a test run and it’s very cool. More to come on that one and also how not to set the thing up 😉

Today’s miles 2+8 / April miles = 101 | Today’s situps = 50 Feb total = 880.

* When I say it’s free they do want me to do something and I may need some help from you guys…

~ by joggerblogger on April 20, 2008.

16 Responses to “What’s better than nothing?”

  1. Well how is it?? was easy to sync with the i pod?? I can’t wear Nike’s E can. They want you to promote it to us right?? 🙂

  2. I’m impressed that your blog has become so influential you get free stuff to review.

  3. It was cool – I can’t wear Nike trainers because of my running stlye so I had to bodge a chip carrier:

    Bodge Job Done

    It’s a good alternative for those who don’t have a compatible ipod (like me) or who don’t like running listening to tunes. More to come about it soon.

    Highway – it was a great surprise 🙂

  4. i’m waiting and waiting for garmin to email me …. 😦

  5. btw.. you can do the nike+ human race now on the 31.08.08 – sign up soon to reserve your place.

  6. Free stuff!! Cool!!

  7. London Jogger – I will go over and sign up… are you doing it?

  8. I’m taking mine for a spin tomorrow.
    Glad I checked out you photo though, I’ve been wearing it with the plastic bit left in and the silly angle was winding me up.

  9. yes – i’m doing it hopefully – i’ve reserved my place 🙂

  10. […] any of those Nike shoes with the holes in so, following the lead of Joggerblogger, I undertake the Joggerblogger bodge job and tape the Nike+ link to my shoe and now with my weird alien pointing finger and a running shoe […]

  11. […] of carrying my speed sensor – you wouldn’t catch me putting gaffer tape on my Kayanos unlike Joggerblogger and […]

  12. Wow, well done you; on both the test-drive and the freebie!!

  13. […] the Nike+ Sportband on Monday. In the absence of Nike trainers with a hole in the sole, I used the cling-film-and-sellotape trick. Note to self: must get one of those little pouches, otherwise I’m absolutely bound to […]

  14. […] but then I remember that red and green should not be seen so I put on my usual trainers and I take my free Nike+ Sportband as I’ve been sent another one without a defective screen and I use my new pouch instead of doing the Joggerblogger bodge job […]

  15. […] my speed sensor – you wouldn’t catch me putting gaffer tape on my Kayanos unlike Joggerblogger and […]

  16. […] the Nike+ Sportband on Monday. In the absence of Nike trainers with a hole in the sole, I used the cling-film-and-sellotape trick. Note to self: must get one of those little pouches, otherwise I’m absolutely bound to […]

Leave a Reply

 
